Beautiful Things

Easter has always been my favorite holiday. The story of the resurrection of Jesus. It is such a beautiful and heartbreaking tale and a story of love and hope. 

It is a time for family and being thankful for the sacrifice Christ made and his love he has for all. This year I am feeling home sick and feel like I’m missing out on everything happening back home. Sunrise service with my grandparents and family dinner at their house. Then you know, the memories of when I was little and finding jelly beans and eggs all morning. It can be depressing to be without family on holidays like Easter. Today the feeling was especially strong. 

I’ve been waiting all week for today. The weather forecast was saying it was supposed to be beautiful out – sunny and warm. A beautiful spring day. We all need some sun in our lives after this terribly cloudy winter. GIVE ME SOME VITAMIN D!!! Also probably a factor in my depressed mood.

Well for once the weather man was right! There isn’t a cloud in the sky, the sun is beaming and it is the perfect temperature.

Earlier this week I made the decision that I would be running my first 5K this summer, then I made the decision to make it 2 or maybe even 3! So, as I am not a runner (AT ALL) I downloaded a “couch to 5K” application on my phone to help me train to be ready to run these things and keep me on track. Technology is amazing. 

Since the weather was gorgeous today, I decided that I would head over to the Montour Trail to do Day 3 of 5K training. So much different than running on a treadmill.

I pull into the parking lot, grab my phone and slip it into my armband, put my car key into my pocket and slip on my headphones. 

Motivating running music starts from Spotify. I push start on my 5K app.

“Begin 5 minute warmup!”

And so it begins. I start walking to the trail. The training is only 30 minutes currently and overall I go about 2.5 miles (not a 5K, but I will get there!).

I cross the road and head into the woods on the trail. 

“Begin running!”

One minute of running begins.

“Begin walking!”

90 seconds of walking.

“Begin running!”

One minute.

“Begin walking!”

90 seconds.

“Begin running!”

One minute. I round a bend.

“Begin walking!”

I slow to a brisk walk and look up. Out of the corner of my eye I see a doe standing at the edge of the trail. I look over to her. She stops. I slow down to almost a stop.

She is a beautiful creature. Her hair is still thick from her winter coat, but in the sun that shines on her between the bare branches I could see the red fur shine beneath ready for spring.

She flicks her ear and walks a few steps forward and away from me. I start walking a little faster. We make eye contact. We both slow back down. 

Then she perks her head, hesitates and jumps down to the trail ahead of me. Hooves pound into the dirt and she pushes off into the other side of the forest. She takes off running into the distance.

The song in my headphones ends and I hear children freaking out behind me about the deer. They run to the edge of the trail where the deer pushed off. 

“Begin running!”

I begin again.

As I continue the rest of my 30 minute training (which turned into 40 because I didn’t turn around when it told me I was half way!) all I can think about was that moment and how my feeling of homesick and lonely had vanished. God gave us a beautiful day and gave me motivation to go out an run. I just love how he works. The timing was perfect. It was only 90 seconds, but it was exactly what I needed today, along with some well deserved vitamin D. I wish I had gotten a photo of her, but it would have ruined it. I would have been fiddling around with my armband and she would have taken off sooner.

I am not sure why those 90 seconds made me feel better, but God does. So thank God for today and all those moments that he gives you. He makes beautiful things, you just need to open your eyes and see them.

 

Revelation 21:4-5: And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away.” Then He who sat on the throne said, “Behold, I make all things new.” And He said to me, “Write, for these words are true and faithful.”

Leave a comment